jump to navigation

Fabric Backgammon Board Game October 26, 2010

Posted by Sarah in backgammon, birthday, buttons, fabric, game, gift, green, hand made, home made, Pattern, recycle, reuse, sewing, thrifty.
trackback

If you had asked me a week ago if I’d ever played backgammon my answer would have been no.

This is what I said to the Mr when he asked me if I had played before.  I said that I’d like to learn though, so he downloaded an iphone app for it and taught me to play.  We both agree that it’s a great game.  It’s one of the oldest board games around.

Fast forward one week and we’re both slightly addicted to the game!

I wanted to do something special for J for his birthday this year.  He turned 30 today you see, it’s a pretty special day.

I had originally planned on buying a vintage set online, but after some searching I found them to be way out of my rather meagre current budget.

This is what made me decide to make my own backgammon board for him.  I remember seeing one on a blog many moons ago that someone had made.  I couldn’t find the link, or any free patterns online yesterday, so I decided to design it myself.

Yesterday afternoon I drew up a pattern, cut out my fabric, and pieced it together.  I made the board the exact size of our coffee table so that we can play while we sit on the couch at night.

I made the board entirely from things that I found about the house.  A very thrifty project indeed!

The green fabric came from a thrift store in Batemans Bay.  It’s very thick felt, like what you would find on a snooker or pool table.

The white fabric is a thin wool, perhaps from a blanket.  I purchased that from Reverse Garbage in one of my fabric gathering outings.

The backing fabric is a Japanese cotton, something that I bought from Tessuti ages ago.  I had been waiting for the perfect project to use it on, and I think it works really well.

The pieces/chips are buttons that I picked up from a local thrift shop ages ago.  I got about 150 of them for $1 I think.  I plan to sew or glue little circles of coloured felt into the tops of the buttons, but the white stickers are doing a fine job for now.  I found the organza bag in amongst my craft goodies, perfect for storing the pieces.

The only thing that I don’t have is the 4 dice, but they can wait.  In the meantime we’re using an iphone dice app!

I’m off to pack a picnic lunch for us to share today.  It’s a glorious day for a birthday picnic I think.  Happy birthday honey!

Comments»

1. fb - October 28, 2010

clever project, I like it


Leave a comment