jump to navigation

Frocktober (day 8) October 8, 2010

Posted by Sarah in clothes, crochet, dress, fabric, frock, Frocktober, Fundraising, hand made, home made, recycle, refashion, sewing, thrifty.
trackback

Today’s dress is one that I made for myself last year.  To be honest, it never quite fitted me properly.  I had made it in haste, and with no pattern, so the elastic in the waist bands ended up being way too big.  Unflatteringly so.  Today I decided to see if I could fix it and make it more wearable, and I have to say that I’m quite pleased with the result.

I started by sewing in the waist elastic by about 4 inches so that it sits where I want it.  Then I cut the top 4 inches off and made another elastic band.  It fits so much better now, I think I’ll wear it tons this summer.  I’m going to wear it with the split up the back now rather than at the side.  I went out to get some shots and ended up walking all the way to Paddington and back in it.  It’s really comfortable!

Dress:  Handmade by me, then fixed by me a year later!
Brooch:  Gift from my Mum – I think she got it from a market somewhere in Auckland.  As I was putting it on today I accidentally broke off the little plastic diamante from the centre of it.  Oops!  I may or may not repair it.  I quite like it the way it is now actually.  I don’t wear it often, as it’s quite big to wear up on my chest.  I think it works really well on my dress ‘belt’ though.

You’ll have to excuse my facial expression in the second photo – it’s difficult to pose for a photo when you can see another pedestrian coming along the alley towards you!

 

If you’d like to sponsor me for my Frocktober challenge please head here to donate.  My registration number is 664999.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

