jump to navigation

July 2, 2010

Posted by Sarah in art, black, business, green, Hammer, home made, kings cross, Letterpress, recycle, refashion, Saponify, Second Hand, soap, vintage.
trackback

I’ve been indecisive for some time about how to brand and package my soaps for Saponify.  After much discussion with friends, customers and family I feel like I have in my head a clear idea and direction for what I want.  I want my soap to look like what they are.  Handmade.  Rustic.  Natural.  Covering them up with excessive packaging goes against what I want for Saponify and also what I want for this planet.  Yesterday I wandered into the most beautiful store called David Met Nicole.  I just wanted to stay in the store all day, poring over their collection of vintage stamps.  The store is tiny, but filled to the brim with exciting treasures.  The sales assistant was so lovely, and helped me to find just the right S for my soaps.  It’s a very old letterpress piece, I think that it was from the 1950’s but can’t be sure.

So, what do you think of the new look?  Do you love it or do you loathe it?

These little rubber stamps are teaching stamps from schools.  How great is that!  I’m going to use them on my notes to customers.  I need to find ‘please’ and ‘thank you’ stamps next.

Comments appreciated.

Comments»

1. zac - July 2, 2010

What a great idea.
This will make the great looking soaps you make even nicer…

And the S stands for Sara as well as for soap so you get a double branding in 1 letter :)

Well done.

2. Sarah - July 8, 2010

Thanks Zac, so lovely and supportive as always :)

3. Leonie Simpson - October 8, 2010

Love the stamp! I am going to track down this store for sure :)

Sarah - October 12, 2010

Thanks Leonie! It’s such a great store – you’ll love it I’m sure! There’s a bunch of cool little shops along that stretch of Cleveland St actually.


Leave a Reply

