jump to navigation

Our week of food and good times May 20, 2010

Posted by Sarah in baking, cake, chocolate, dining out, draft snake, family, food, holiday, mum, sewing, soup.
trackback

Yesterday I kissed and hugged my Mother goodbye, and watched as the cab she was in pulled away from the curb and headed to the airport.  It is always to special to have her visit, but so bittersweet when she has to leave again.  You see, she’s a special person my Mum.  She’s funny, and silly, and couldn’t care less what people think about her.  She’s creative, but doesn’t know it.  She has a killer sweet tooth.  She makes me feel safe, and warm, and loved.  And she makes me giggle like crazy.  I love that.  I love my Mum.

We did our best to blend in with the Ladies who Lunch crowd.  I think we looked like frauds, but that’s ok with me.

We ate plenty of cake.  An absolute necessity when Mum is around.  This is a little Lemon Polenta cake from the lady at the Saturday markets in Kings Cross.  Delicious.

We caught the bus to Balmain and ate lunch, and too much cake at Adriano Zumbo Cafe.  This one is called Ginger.  Incredible!  Go there, eat this.  Be sure to share, it’s a monster.

There was plenty of sugar-induced giggling going on

We ate at the ever impressive Cafe Sopra in Potts Point

Zucchini Flowers stuffed with 5 italian cheeses.  Perfect every time.

The Jerusalem Artichoke, Broad Bean and Swimmer Crab Soup is to die for.  Perfect in every way.  I do pity the poor kitchen hand who has to peel all those broad beans each day though.

Mum also helped me service my sewing machine, purchased a bunch of my soap, and took home Webley the Whale and Enid the draft snake.

It was a very special week indeed, and I’m so glad we had it all to ourselves.  Till next time!

Comments»

1. Mum - June 2, 2010

Sarah’s Mum here! I had the most special, fun and surreal time during my visit to her. I can not put into words what it meant to me to be able to spend a week in “Sarah’s world”. I am so proud of the person she is and what she is achieving. We just decided each day what to do and I got to: see soap made from scratch, watch the worms in her worm farms get their dinner of vege peelings etc blended in the food processor, help her hawk twenty boxes onto the bus and across town on foot, experience various culinary delights from her kitchen and selected eateries, play scrabbble, walk up hill and down dale, drink wine in various places while the rest of Sydney worked, seek Joh’s computer advice and eat his pork belly dinner, cut out and press table napkins she sewed while it was pouring with rain against the windows and the music was playing, cry nearly all the way to the airport but, MOST OF ALL, I got spend time with my unique little girl. Thank you Sarah, I am one happy and proud Mum. xx


Leave a Reply

