jump to navigation

A very pretty visitor February 18, 2010

Posted by Sarah in art, beetle, blue, garden, green, nature.
trackback

Yesterday while I was on the phone I noticed this incredible beetle in our courtyard.  Then I finished my phone call and promptly forgot that I’d seen him/her.

A friend popped in for a visit, and as he was leaving I noticed that the beetle was still here.  It had been circling this tin for about an hour by this stage.

Note – this is not an ordinary sized tin, it’s a big catering sized one that I brought home with me from my last job to store things in.  The beetle was very big, about 2cm long.

The beetle kept circling as we were admiring it, then I realised that it couldn’t work out how to get down from the rim of the tin!  It must have been so exhausted doing laps of the tin on those tiny legs, holding up that enormous body.

You can’t quite see it in the photos, but it’s legs were the most vivid shiny metallic blue colour.

I gently put the tin on it’s side so that the beetle could find it’s way again.  When I came back 30 minutes later he had vanished.

After a quick Google search this morning I think he/she might have been a Paropsine Beetle, though I couldn’t find any photographs that matched this one’s colouring.

Edit 19.02.10

Check out my friend Larissa’s blog Ameblah for a photograph of the spectacular beetle she noticed in her yard yesterday.  So very cool.

Comments»

1. Kate - February 18, 2010

That is the coolest beetle ever – and HUGE!

2. ambiguousartistry - February 19, 2010

Oh awesome looking beetle.

3. Sarah - February 19, 2010

I had a juvenile of the same species crawling over my shoulders while I was having lunch with J in Hyde Park today. It must be the season for them. Isn’t nature awesome?


Leave a Reply

