jump to navigation

Upcycled jumper made into whale soft toy February 6, 2010

Posted by Sarah in buttons, christmas, clothes, cosy, Craft, fabric, family, gift, home made, recycle, refashion, sewing, thrifty, toy.
trackback

I made this little whale soft toy for my Great Nephew Felix for Christmas.  I took an old acrylic knit vest of mine, turned it wrong side out and cut out a whale pattern from it.

I stuffed him with polyfil, stitched matching eyes onto either side of his face and hand stitched a happy grin onto his face with yarn.

This was my first time sewing with knit fabric.  Next time I’ll make the seam allowances much bigger to make it easier to sew around the tail.

He was such a fun creature to make.  I think we might see more little whale friends around this house for gifts in the future.

Comments»

1. Pepa - January 5, 2011

Really cute!! What a wonderful piece of lovely work.


Leave a Reply

