jump to navigation

December 6, 2009

Posted by Sarah in blue, Craft, embroidery, fabric, felt, gift, home made, kittens, love, recycle, refashion, sewing, thrifty, toy.
trackback

My newest newphew Sacha was welcomed into the world on the 23rd of November!  A little brother for my niece Sofia to dote on.

I made this kitty soft toy for him a few months ago, in anticipation for his arrival.  I finally posted it over to him in New Zealand last week, and his Grandma and Grandad took it over to him yesterday.  I used a pattern from the lovely Meet Me at Mike’s book.

The face of the kitty in the pattern is quite different to what I ended up sewing.  I think my kitty has more of a traditional cat’s face, I like this more.

The pattern didn’t include a tail, so I fashioned one for the Sacha’s kitty.  I think every kitty needs a tail, don’t you?!

The main fabric of the kitty came from an enormous thrifted woolen skirt I discovered at a local Salvation Army charity store recently.  The mushroom print on the belly is from a piece of heavy Japanese cotton from my stash.

(The stitching on the side of the belly looks a little rough because of my dodgy hand-finishing stitches.  If I made this pattern again I’d use the tail opening as the turning-right-side-out seam to fix that problem).

Comments»

1. Stacey - December 9, 2009

I was so blown away when I opened the package from Sacha’s clever Auntie Sarah. Sofia did think it was for her for a moment until I explained that it was for baby and had come on a plane just like her beloved Hazel.

The kitty is gorgeous, and I adore the plaid fabric! I recognise the Japanese linen cotton mushrrom fabric too as one of my most coverted and ‘wished I had purchased’ fabrics from this year.

Thanks so much for such a thoughtful present for the wee guy.

Looking forward to a catch up in shortly.
Sxxx

2. Larissa - January 12, 2010

love kitty….just too cute!

3. Sarah - January 13, 2010

Thanks Larissa!


Leave a Reply

