jump to navigation

Hazel the ruffled hedgehog November 8, 2009

Posted by Sarah in buttons, Craft, fabric, felt, gift, home made, love, recycle, refashion, sewing, thrifty, toy, vintage.
trackback

My little niece Sofia turns 2 next week, and I wanted to make her a special toy for her birthday.

I found this great tutorial for making a ruffled hedgehog on the lovely blog Matsutake. I’m pretty sure that Katie’s version is much more petite than Hazel, like handful size.  But that’s ok, Hazel is more the size of an actual hedgehog, and I like that.

PB060020

I made Hazel out of a great printed vintage polyester shirt that Mum gave to me a while back.  It wasn’t the right style or shape for me, so i’m glad it’s been upcycled!

PB060021

The purple and black ruffles are made from felt.  They took ages to sew on, I didn’t want to have any issues with a little person being able to pull them off and choke on them.

PB060025

Hazel is in the post and on the way to Sofia now, I think they’re going to make very fine friends indeed!

Comments»

1. Stacey - December 2, 2009

Sarah,

Sofia adores Hazel! Hazel watches Thumbelina with her and whenever she sits down to watch In the Night Garden or the Wot Wots she has to have Hazel on her knee watching with her. It is so cute.
She really loves to suck on her nose as well as play with the ruffles. Poor Hazel has a constantly wet nose!

See you soon.
Sxxx

2. Aotearoa (part 2) « Crafty Llama - January 12, 2010

[…] And hung out with Sofia, who was most impressed when she found out that I was the person who had made her beloved Hazel. […]


Leave a Reply

