jump to navigation

Frocktober October 1, 2009

Posted by Sarah in clothes, dress, fabric, Frocktober, Fundraising, vintage.
trackback

I’ve been inspired by the lovely Veronica over at Veronica Darling to sign up for Frocktober

During the month of Frocktober I’ll be frocking up in support of the fundraising initiative aiming to raise funds for the Ovarian Cancer Research Foundation.  I’m going to be wearing a frock a day for every day in October, and posting daily pics of what dresses i’m wearing.  If you feel like sponsoring me, to help raise funds for this worthy cause, PLEASE DO!

The latest statistics across Australia are that, “one woman dies every ten hours from ovarian cancer.”

For many women with ovarian cancer, the disease is already well advanced when they are first diagnosed.

Unfortunately, there is currently no screening test for ovarian cancer. Frocktober aims to help improve the outlook for women with the disease by supporting the quest for a suitable early detection test, through fundraising for the OCRF.

Click here to donate.  My registration number is 539381.

Here is my frock for today, the first day of Frocktober.  It’s one of my favourites, we went to Vietnam together even.

PA010011

PA010005

PS – I just counted my frocks and it turns out that I own 22!  I don’t think i’m going to have much trouble getting my frock on this month…

Comments»

1. Veronica Darling - October 1, 2009

So good! I’ll sponsor you! Can’t wait to see all your frocks too!

xoxoxo

Sarah - October 6, 2009

Thanks Veronica! It’s been quite fun so far – opening my closet and wondering what frock shall I wear today : )

2. Mari, Mark, and Logan - October 2, 2009

Love the “frock”- We are leaving donations just to check out auntie Sarah’s cute dresses! Plus, I love the word, “frock” and plan to use it all month in honor of your cause. I hope this helps…

Sarah - October 6, 2009

Using the word Frock is definitely a good way to spread the word, glad to see that you’re checking out the blog too : )

3. Frocktober day 2 « Crafty Llama - October 2, 2009

[…] on October 2, 2009 by Sarah Thank you to everyone that responded so positively over email and here about my Frocktober […]

4. Paula - October 3, 2009

It’s so great to keep up with other “frockettes” and see everyone’s amazing efforts. My biggest challenge of frocktober so far is waiting for hubby to take photos so I can update http://blog.impromptu.com.au with my daily “frock fotos”. Such an amazing cause – I hope we raise lots of money for OCRF.

Sarah - October 6, 2009

Hi Paula!
I know what you mean about the photo taking, but I think i’ve worked out a good spot to take mine. I have the camera on a chair, on a box, on a book and that’s just about the perfect height for a self timer photo : )
I’ve had so many people show interest in Frocktober, i’m so happy about that.
Happy Frocktober!


Leave a comment