jump to navigation

Homemade Strawberry jam September 1, 2009

Posted by Sarah in bread, butter, food, fruit, home made, jam, preserving, strawberries, thrifty.
trackback

I snapped up some bargain strawberries at the supermarket yesterday.  They were perfectly ripe, so i decided to make them into jam.

P9010004

I checked out my trusty old copy of the Edmonds Cookbook to see what they said about the ratio of sugar to fruit.  Usually I work on a 1:1 ratio, but this time I used 1.140 kgs of strawberries to 1kg of sugar.  The instructions on how to actually make the jam cracked me up – such matter of fact language.  I especially like the sentence “The juice of 1 or 2 lemons added just before taking jam off element is an improvement.”  It sounds like this particular author didn’t really care for strawberry jam very much at all!

P9010003

When I took  my jam jars out of the cupboard and the very first one that I took out of the box just happened to be an old Strawberry Jam jar from last year.  It was meant to be.

P9010002

I love this old preserving pan!  It’s almost identical to the one that Mum uses, I have so many childhood memories of a pot of marmalade bubbling away on the stovetop.  My sister actually found this one for me through her work – and I brought it to Australia with me.

P9010007

And these are the lovely jars of ruby coloured jam.  I can’t wait to pop open one of these to go with some homemade bread and butter later in the year.  Yum!

P9010010

Comments»

1. zac - September 1, 2009

What a GR8 post.

Love the photo of the jam and the Cyclamen :)

Sarah - September 4, 2009

Thank you Zac! The cyclamen is really loving her new home here. Looking very happy indeed!


Leave a Reply

