jump to navigation

Shorter is better – for hemlines anyway February 6, 2009

Posted by Sarah in clothes, dress, fabric, home made, refashion, sewing, thrifty.
trackback

I picked this dress up from a local thrift store a couple of months ago because I loved the colour.  It was two sizes too big for me but I saw immediate potential, and for $4 you can’t really complain can you.img_3330ximg_3323

I’ve been wearing it around the house recently as is, because its so big and roomy in this hot weather.  But I caught a glance of myself yesterday when I was shopping with it on and I realised that I really needed to do something about it.  Trust me, it wasn’t good.

Last night I took the bottom 3 inch panel of blue off with my quick unpick.   Today I took the sides in and took the bottom hem up another 7 inches.img_4008img_4010

It really does need a belt to break it up, but these two of mine will do until I get around to making something specific for it.img_4019img_4018

I love how it came out.  It’s quite cute I think!

Comments»

1. Stacey - February 8, 2009

That is so very cute. Shawn said it was really cool too. Well done you. Refashioning feels great doesn’t it!

Sarah - February 8, 2009

Thanks Stacey and Shawn! Yes I do love to refashion things, it’s so cool to give something a new lease of life. I’ve been doing alot of it but keep forgetting to take before photos! Well, this is a start, more to come soon :)

2. Frocktober (day 18) « Crafty Llama - October 18, 2010

[…] Dress:  Op-shopped, shortened, taken in.  Total cost $4.  This dress wasn’t always so cute.  You can read more about it’s transition from cast-away tent to much beloved frock here. […]


Leave a Reply

