jump to navigation

Sunday lovely Sunday January 4, 2009

Posted by Sarah in baking, bread, cheese, dining in, food, knitting, organic, vegetables, wool.
trackback

Joh and I had the most lovely day at home today, pottering around the house.  We had three separate offers to go out to see our dear friends for afternoon drinks, but we decided to stay here and spend some quality time with our house (and each other, of course!!)

For breakfast we had the last two slices of our sprouted rye bread with organic avocado, tomato and fresh coriander from our garden.  Half way through mine I decided to try out some of our new alfalfa sprouts, and they were delicious!

img_3065img_30761

I can’t wait for our deliveries from Lettuce Deliver to start again.  We’ve been shopping at Fratelli Fresh while the Lettuce family are on a much needed break.  The quality at Fratelli Fresh is some of the best in the city, but it still doesn’t even come close to our beautiful organic deliveries.  We did pick up some Tasmanian walnuts, which I cracked with my monster of a mortar and pestle.  I’ve popped them in the freezer until I decide what to do with them.

img_3099img_3094img_3096

I did a bit of knitting, finishing off a monolith of a blanket that I’ve been using for months in it’s incomplete state.  Photos and gory details to come in another post.

img_3085

Joh and I had some cheese in the fridge that needed using, a Polish style cottage cheese.  Joh made a wonderful organic wholemeal bread dough and left it to develop for a few hours.  I made some organic caramelised onions while the dough did it’s thing.  Joh kneaded and rolled the dough to a wonderful carpet of carbohydrates on the kitchen bench.  Then we scattered olive oil, caramelised onions, polish cottage cheese, parmagiana reggiano, olives and basil leaves.  Joh rolled the whole thing into a log, and then we decided it would be best to slice and cook the pieces individually, kind of like the broiche dough we used to make when I was a cook in Auckland.  They worked beautifully!  We cooked half of them on our pizza stone, and half in muffin tins.  The verdict?  Joh prefers the look of the muffin tin variety, while i like the more rustic feel of the pizza stone cooked rolls.  Either way, they are delicious, and will make a great lunch for us tomorrow.p1040008

img_3109img_3112p1040003img_3104p1040004

Comments»

1. Sarah H - January 7, 2009

Wow I’m hungry just looking at that. It looks amazing! I’m off out now to buy some avocado’s and tomatoes :-)

2. Stacey - January 11, 2009

They look deliciosu. I wish I had popped in to yours that day!
Sxxx

3. Stacey - January 11, 2009

They look delicious!
I wish I had popped in to yours that day!
Sxxx


Leave a Reply

