jump to navigation

Recycling yarn September 26, 2008

Posted by Sarah in cosy, home made, knitting, refashion, wool.
trackback

I’ve had a wee hiatus from posting here at Craftyllama, but I’m back!

The bulk of my time has been spent knitting, but more about that big project coming up in a future post.

Said big project has required alot of wool, and instead of heading to the yarn store yet again to buy wool I started to look at what I already had. I made this scarf last year, but recently I’ve become bored with it. I decided to recycle the yarn to use in my new project. The process was rewarding, and i’ve got back two balls of pure wool that would have otherwise laid in my closet for another year.

First of all I had to find the end of the yarn that I had woven/hidden in the scarf.

Next I started to very gently unravel the scarf.

Which looked like this once I was done.

The next step is to wind the wool into hanks, around something about a foot apart. Some people wind around their knees or feet, but I decided to use one of our chairs. Luckily I realised early on that I wouldn’t be able to remove my hank if I was winding the wool onto this part of the chair.

So I started again with the chair turned upside down.

Once I had a hank wound I tied it together in three places to keep it together.

Then I had three nicely wound hanks of wool, but they were still a bit crinkly.

Now they were washed in a warm wool wash in the basin and then rinsed.

To remove the kinks from the wool I tied a can to the bottom of each hank, and then tied the hank to the washing line. The can pulls on the wool to smooth out the kinks.

Once they were dried they came off the washing line, the cans were released from their duties, and the wool was put into my basket for knitting with.

And here it is, looking new and fresh in my project.

Comments»

1. Patchwork knitted blanket « Crafty Llama - May 12, 2009

[…] started life because I wanted to try to use up all the half balls of wool that I had.  I used some recycled wool from a previous project.  I soon realised that I didn’t have much wool after all.  After […]


Leave a Reply

