jump to navigation

Cushion cover makeover June 15, 2008

Posted by Sarah in cushion, fabric, sewing.
trackback

I have finally finished the cushion covers that I’ve been working on for a few weeks now. The back of both cushions is made out of some orange cotton from my stash. I’ve doubled it over to create a thicker fabric, so you can’t feel the stuffing from the cushion insert coming through. The front of both cushions is made from pieces of wool that I stitched together.

I had to teach myself how to put in a zipper. I used the old cushion cover as a guide to how it should work. I did have to unpick the seams a couple of times, which was a real nuisance seeing as I seem to have lost my quick unpick. I had to use a kitchen knife instead!!

I’m so happy with how they look! They really brighten up our living room and because they’re made from such lovely fabric they feel lovely to sit against, or cuddle up to.


Comments»

1. Miss 376 - June 15, 2008

They look fantastic. Well done on you for the perseverance with the zips

2. reenie - June 16, 2008

Oooh, preeetty… I never liked sewing zippers. I remember making a lot of shorts, skirts and pants with tie-up tops instead of zippers *grin*

3. Kate - June 17, 2008

They look hot hun, can’t wait to put in my order for housewarming cushions for our new pad. ;)

4. Sarah - September 26, 2008

Miss 376 – thank you!

Reenie – I’m about to start with making some clothes for summer and I’m undecided about what will be harder – zippers or button holes!


Leave a Reply

