jump to navigation

Knitting needles May 22, 2008

Posted by Sarah in knitting, Uncategorized.
trackback

Whilst on my walk home today I stopped in at a store that I pass everyday called Dust. It’s a tiny store selling all manner of old bits and pieces. I was actually there looking for a reading lamp, but then I happened upon this amazing box of knitting needles.

I thought that they were quite expensive, for the $45 asking price, but then when I started to have a good look through the box and found these beauties I knew it had to come home with me.

The woman in the store told me they came from an estate sale of a 93 year old woman, and that the box of needles was one of her favourite things in the store.

I love the bundles of dpns – the way that she has so carefully tide yarn around them to keep them together really reminds me of my own grandmother.

And look at the writing on the backs of these packets of dpns – “with specially tapered points which will not injure the fingers.”

Comments»

1. Kate - May 23, 2008

Wow! Great find!

2. Sarah - May 26, 2008

I’ve just started a new scarf with some of the old old needles tonight, how exciting :)


Leave a Reply

