jump to navigation

An answer to the never-ending canvas bag problem March 4, 2008

Posted by Sarah in bag, fabric, home made, refashion, sewing.
trackback

More and more, i’m finding that we’re ending up with canvas bags being given to us when we shop. I have so many of these things now that i’ve been considering using them for rubbish bags. I carry one in my handbag with me so that I can use it if I need to, and recently I have been taking my umbrella to work and lunch in a canvas bag. The thing is, I loathe them. I don’t like the way they feel on my sore hands. I don’t like being a walking advertisement for a supermarket – especially considering we don’t buy from the supermarket.

My solution to this problem is to make my own tote/shopping bags that I can be proud of.

I used a cotton bag that I like the size of for the pattern. The fabric was thrifted for $4 at a Salvos store and the straps are from scraps from a previous sewing adventure.

p2260007-640x480.jpgp2260005-640x480.jpgp2260004-640x480.jpgp2260002-640x480.jpgp2260001-640x480.jpg

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

