jump to navigation

Favourite woolen jumper reinvented February 5, 2008

Posted by Sarah in clothes, fabric, felt, home made, refashion, sewing, wool.
trackback

I got this idea from one of my Craft magazines. It worked so well!

This jumper has been sitting in my wardrobe unused for at least two years now. It had an unfortunate run-in with the washing machine and was shrunken and felted. It must have shrunk up at least 3 inches, and the sleeves were far too short for me.

It started life as an expensive roll neck long sleeved black woolen jumper with a key hole in the back.

I turned it around and cut it up the middle to make it into a cardigan. Now the back is the front, creating a nice little key hole in the front now.

I get quite itchy arms with wool on my wrists so i’ve shortened the sleeves to just below the elbow.

This was my first attempt with a button hole and I think it worked out really well. I just cut a small slit where I wanted the button to go and backstitched around it.

I’m not sure if I’ll do anything else to change it. Maybe some hand stitching detail on the neckline to tidy it up a little.

I have some leftover pieces from the neck that I will make into a headband, and who knows what the sleeves will end up as.

So, from a completely unuseful pile of guilt lying in my wardrobe i’ve created something new and exciting for myself!

p2050098-640x480.jpgp2050100-640x480.jpg

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

