jump to navigation

And then there was Sunday… November 9, 2007

Posted by Sarah in apron, fabric, gift, home made, sewing.
trackback

We started the day with a relaxed breakfast of pikelets.  My mother used to make these regularly for lunch in the weekends when I was growing up, and still does.  Hers are about three times the size of mine, but the recipe I had was for 18 small ones so thats what I made.  I love nostalgia food.  It makes me homesick like you wouldn’t believe, the smell of these babies cooking in the frying pan in a little butter.  The jams pictured are all home made, two by myself and one by Mum.

pb040001-small.jpg

I recently purchased a new sewing machine and apart from doing a few repair jobs I hadn’t really used it.  I work in a cafe, and really don’t like wearing the boring stock standard black mini aprons we have to use.  So I made my own.  This is made from an old skirt that Mum made for me probably 8 years ago.  I haven’t worn it very much at all since I moved to Sydney, so I thought it would be a good place to start, and I wouldn’t ruin new fabric if I made a mistake.  Please excuse the super cheesy photo. I’m quite proud of what I ended up with considering the last time I touched a sewing machine was intermediate school!  I used the whole front panel, cut off the back and made ties from the remaining fabric.  I bought some ric rac the last time I was at spotlight so I sewed that on the bottom seam to add a bit of interest.

pb040008-small.jpgpb040011-small.jpgpb040012-small.jpgpb040013-small.jpgpb040009-small.jpg

Next up was an apron for my sister-in-laws Christmas present.  This was very easy now that I had a pattern from making myself one.  I made hers a bit shorter and used ribbon for the waist tie.

pb040014-small.jpgpb040016-small.jpg

Comments»

1. An answer to the never-ending canvas bag problem « Crafty Llama - March 4, 2008

[…] I used a cotton bag that I like the size of for the pattern. The fabric was thrifted for $4 at a Salvos store and the straps are from scraps from a previous sewing adventure. […]


Leave a Reply

